Comments From Our Students

 

 

Check out these reviews from real students:

2017 Review: I’ve been painting for 10 years and wish I had found Johannes when I first started. It would have saved me thousands of dollars and needless aggravation. I do have a commercial arts degree but that was all drawing no painting. I am retired from the Chicago Tribune newspaper as an ad creator.

 

Thank you Linnea

Exactly what I’ve been searching for! Review by susan

Even though we’ve never met in person, Johannes is the best art teacher I’ve ever had. He excels in explaining a concept verbally, then showing visual examples of it. I have learned more information, more completely, from him than from the art classes I took in college. Much cheaper, too! My confidence has improved dramatically when facing a blank canvas and so has my work–all because of these classes. I recommend everything he has produced; it’s much less expensive than one or two college classes, with much more info included. I’ve read art books for years. This takes learning to the next level and is value priced as well.

(Posted on 7/27/2012)

Outstanding video series Review by mjellis64

I started painting a couple of years ago and was floundering. I never took “serious” art classes and was going the community education route. Then I stumbled onto North Light and Johannes Vloothuis’ internet classes last winter. I can’t tell you how much they have improved my painting skills! I am more confident about mixing color, designing stronger compositions and have grown a lot as an artist. Not only does Johannes show you how to paint, he also critiques student’s work. So you get to see many different painting style and learn from them. Thank you, North Light and Johannes, for producing this outstanding series. I now have purchased all of them!

I used to…. Review by John

Reach for green to paint grass, white to paint snow, with the rather horrid results you would expect. After study with Johannes in this series, I now understand, green and white are the last colors you reach for, the results have been remarkable!!

(Posted on 3/2/2014)

Great Value Review by ladypinkston

You can rely on Johannes to give you money’s worth. His teaching style is excellent and to the point. You will not find a better bang for your buck in art instruction. In a focus class such as this he is actually taking an in depth approach on the focused subject matter. I’ve had a lot of teachers over many years–Johannes is top notch.

(Posted on 7/22/2012)

Outstanding teaching Review by Ladypinkston

I became addicted and I purchased all in this series with no disappointment whatsoever. Johannes is a very articulate and knowledgeable art teacher and he really cares about his students. He holds nothing back and he will help you take your painting to a higher level than where you start and if you keep his “golden nuggets” in your thoughts while you paint your paintings will improve. You will not be sorry for taking this entire series.

(Posted on 7/22/2012)

Excellency in teaching Review by Judith

I have the entire recorded series of Painting Landscapes from Photos, as I followed these lessons live with Johannes as they were being recorded. He is a wonderful teacher. I learned more from Johannes’ lessons than I had gained from thirty -plus years of attending art schools, workshops, demos, videos, etc. If you want to learn how to paint landscapes, these recordings are where it will happen. You will not be disappointed. The current reduced price is like stealing this knowledge.

(Posted on 2/23/2013)

Beyond Excellent Review by Mustbenuts

As a buyer of all of the available videos by Johannes, I must say that these are by far and away the best art lessons and best value I’ve found anywhere, be it books, videos, workshops or formal classes. In a way, it’s unfortunate that “painting” is in the title, because his teaching can benefit any genre. He is one of the very rare teachers whose genuine caring and enthusiasm shine through. It has been a joy to watch and learn from this master.

(Posted on 7/26/2012)

No matter what your skill level is, his friendly teaching style makes it easy to learn. Review by Sarah Allspaw, Online Community Manager


I recommend any of the WetCanvas Live with Johannes Vloothuis products. No matter what your skill level is, his friendly teaching style makes it easy to learn. I consistently get emails from his students that are filled with praise and gratitude

(Posted on 7/19/2012)  

Best Book Review by Jean

I have taken Johannes’s online class for 5 years. He is the best teacher, great Artist, and loves to teach. Teaches in a language that even a begging artist can understand. I learned more from him the first class I took than I did from the many workshops I had taken in the past. We begged him to write a book and he finally did. This is all you will need to become a great artist. All you need to know is in this book. It is a treasure.

(Posted on 5/28/2016)

A must have for the art library Review by Elese

Easy to understand explanations, exceptional illustrations for each topic, and the very recognizable artistic wisdom of Johannes Vloothuis make this a must have for the art library of both beginners and professionals. Don’t let the price fool you–it’s worth its weight in gold. I wonder how many hours of frustration I would have saved if I had found this before I ever picked up a paint brush.

(Posted on 5/1/2016)

Classes by Johannes Review by Teresa

I have enjoyed every class i have taken by Joe. This has been a period of 6 years. Each time he re-enforces points needed to become a better artist. There is not a class that has gone by that i did not learn something new. It is like being in the room with him as he paints. He answers questions and does 3 different mediums. One week is oils, one week is pastels and one week water color. I paint along in oils but watching him do water color has peaked my interest to try. His teaching is not complicated but very easy to understand. As a senior its getting harder to grab details. So it is nice i can get the download and go back over things he has said and done with each painting. YOU WILL NOT be disappointed no matter what level of art you are. Beginner to pro he covers it all. He will critic your work too. There is a great support group to back him up.

(Posted on 4/29/2016)

A wonderful art book Review by Sonia

This book contains so many golden nuggets of information to take your paintings to a whole new level. If you are a beginner or a seasoned artist, you will find this book a great addition to your studio.

I highly recommend Johannes Vloothuis as an art instructor to anyone who wishes to improve their art and to enjoy the painting process without roadblocks. Learn how to interpret a photo to create a most pleasing and inviting painting. Johannes does not hold back. If you teach art, you will still appreciate the way Johannes teaches and his way of explaining art principles in a way that students really grasp it. Joining him as a student , you have access to an interactive Facebook group where you can add your class work and have it critiqued by Johannes himself. Who else offers this? To see more about Johannes, I recommend you sign up on his website for future classes. So affordable! During live classes you can ask questions and chat with other students. Purchasing the classes lets you have the downloads to view again and again at your convenience. website www.improvemypaintings.com , Facebook group , Johannes Vloothuis Landscape Alumni

(Posted on 4/28/2016)

Landscape Painting Essentials Review by Joyce

So many good tips. I like the book and would recommend to anyone loving Art.

(Posted on 4/28/2016)

Excellent! Review by Sarah

I have been watching his instruction online and in videos for some time, and this book reinforces, reminds, and provides reference points that back up his instruction. Using his chapter titles, you can make a quick checklist to judge your work in progress. He cuts right to the elements that make or break a painting.

(Posted on 4/18/2016)

Great resource Review by Elizabeth

Having joined several of Johannes classes- this great resource is a back up to all those things you’ve learnt in his classes
Johannes is a great instructor and his book also gives some of the secrets of landscape painting.
My painting has so improved with his instruction
I would recommend to all

(Posted on 2/7/2016)

Great Book!!!! Review by Carol

Anything by Johannes is wonderful! Have watched some of his free online classes and downloaded a lot of his classes. Finally decided I needed one of his books since I wanted something “physical” to look at and refer to w/o having to get on computer and bring up a download. I have been a BIG fan of his since I first discovered his classes. He makes everything seem so simple and does a wonderful job of explaining and showing how to do something, and in 4 different mediums instead of just one. Love this book, or anything of his.
Thank you! Thank you!

(Posted on 1/28/2016)

Very informative Review by Mindy

Excellent tips and veryuseful. Thanks.

(Posted on 8/7/2015)

Great Book Review by Debi

All the essential information you need to remember the keys to good design in your paintings. If you have been painting awhile sometimes you just need a reminder and this book does it for me. Just scan the pages and the solution to that nagging problem of “what is it that is not working with this painting?” will become clear.

(Posted on 5/23/2015)

A Must Have Review by ValH

Don’t like your painting? Can’t figure out what’s wrong with your landscape effort? This is the book for you! Johannes takes you by the hand and leads you through a myriad of techniques, strategies and lessons that can do nothing but help you along the way. I have taken almost all of his online lessons and my art work has improved by leaps and bounds. A purchase you won’t regret.

(Posted on 4/28/2015)

Excellent book Review by Raymond

This book has what you need to paint wonderful landscapes.
Love it.

(Posted on 4/27/2015)

Love it Review by Elaine

I have been taking on line classes from Johannes now for about 4 years. My painting has improved in leaps and bounds. Over the years I had taken many many notes of the 100’s of tips and important things he was teaching to his students which all helped to take your paintiings to the next level. However, my notes were never well organized and it took me forever to find a key point to check when I needed it. This book provides much of this same information but it is so well organized, easy to follow and very thorough. Plus all of the eye candy in his wonderful photos and paintings helps to not only read a concept but actually ‘see’ it. It is a truly wonderful resource for a beginner as well as for more advanced artists.

(Posted on 4/25/2015)

very motivating Review by Diann

I hadn’t been painting as much as I’d like. I get half way into a Painting and then not like it so I never finish it. This book has helped me like all my paintings.

(Posted on 4/24/2015)

Complete Landscape Painting Guide Review by Stana

This book is great for artists from beginner to professional levels. I have many art books, but none of them compare to the depth of information found in Jo’s book. It is great to have such a comprehensive guide to refer to when creating my art.

(Posted on 4/17/2015)

A must have art book. Review by ToskaFromAlabama

Everything you want to know about painting a successful landscape painting. Many of the “essentials” are applicable to other paintings like still life too. This book has more images of paintings then I have ever seen in other art books. A must have for your art library. You can’t help but improve your paintings if you apply these principles.

(Posted on 4/17/2015)

Must Have Book!! Review by Larry

I am basically a beginner when it comes to painting, although I have been drawing using charcoal and graphite pencils for many years. I am still learning to use the tools of the trade….brushes, mixing colors properly…and everything else. I have been taking Jo’s classes online since July, and have purchased a couple of his DVD’s….but the book gives me a hands on guide to all of the pearls of wisdom of Jo’s. Jo’s teaches the things other artists don’t….and instead of being frustrated with painting, I am now learning what I need to do to create the beauty I see around me everyday. I cannot stress to you how wonderful this book is…no matter if you are a beginner or a seasoned artist….Jo’s book can help your art work reach new levels you could not have imagined!

(Posted on 4/17/2015)

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Review by Maryann

This wonderful and “only one you will need” art book has been long awaited. I’ve been taking the author’s online courses for 4 years and this book has all the concepts he explains in his courses. The book is chock full of artwork he has done in class as well as visual explanations of those concepts. You will absolutely NOT REGRET buying this book or taking his online courses.

(Posted on 4/16/2015)

My Landscape Painting Bible Review by Mary P.

I’ve been taking Jo’s online paint-alongs for the past 6 months and wow, has my artistic eye improved ? not to mention my painting skills. This book is a phenomenal, concise recap of all of the most critical points he teaches during those paint alongs. He reveals every secret, every nuance – you can’t help but be fascinated and enthralled with every page. It’s quickly become my landscape painting bible. My go-to for whenever I get stuck trying to solve a problem. My inspiration for when I want to paint a scene but get stuck trying to figure out the best composition. Although his examples are primarily using watercolor or oil, (he has one pastel demonstration), it really doesn’t matter because the principles, the WHY you need to do this or that apply regardless of the medium in which you prefer to work. You will love this book! [And sign up for one of his paint alongs – you’ll get hooked and learn even more.]

(Posted on 4/16/2015)

Fabulous artist and fabulus book!! Review by Nancy Sue

This is the only book you will ever need to bring out the artist in you! I have piles of art books but none so informative, easy to understand and full of the secrets other artists will NEVER share. So many tidbits in this book to take your painting to a whole new level. Honestly if you are looking for The Best Art Book ever, this is it! It will make you hunger for all of this artists ideas and experience. This is the frosting on the cake after watching his live classes for over three years and now having this resource at my fingertips I have no excuse to not take my art to a new level! Thank you Johannes Vloothuis for everything!!

Wonderful book – you will be a better artist Review by Carol

I’ve been taking classes from Jo for a couple years (live internet) – and have purchased previous classes I missed from Northlight Shop. His book is essential for any aspiring artist’s collection. From the moment I viewed the beautiful cover I fell in love with this book. Well worth the affordable price. Add some of his classes to your collection. And sign up for his live on-going internet classes where you will be able to paint along (in any medium) and chat with other artists who will become your friends. And usually the video recordings are included and you can download them to your own computer. You can visit his site at www.improvemypaintings.com I’m a fan !!

(Posted on 4/15/2015)

Great as usual except for the cover Review by Trudy

I have been following Jo since I first discovered his workshops and DVDs and am convinced that he is a consummate artist and instructor. I am delighted to have a physical book to pick up and read. It is packed with so much information and as I have done so many times before, I would recommend that anyone who is interested in painting well should take advantage of his very informative and all encompassing instructions. However, the moment I saw the cover of this book, my eyes were drawn to the middle mountain peak where I saw the face of a man. I asked others (artists and non-artists) to comment on the painting and they too saw the face. It is very distracting. I am surprised this painting was chosen for the cover.

(Posted on 4/11/2015)

Great Imformation Review by Janette

Johannes has put into book form so many golden nuggets for making a painting work with a professional look that it is the best bargain anywhere. I have purchased most of his DVDs and this is so nice to have right at your fingertips when something isn’t working in your painting, to pick it up and see-oh yeah-thats what I did wrong. It is mostly landscape but I work mostly with figures and the imformation that he supplies applies to figures as well. I can’t express enough how much this would be a benefit to anyone painting as well as someone who is just interested in learning more about viewing paintings. The only one thing I could critcize is it should have been a hard back book for permanency.

(Posted on 4/8/2015)

A Total KnowHow book Review by Barbara Wetpaint38

After four years of online classes I am so happy to see it is all in a book for reference at my fingertips . Written in easy to understand for even a beginner … Great job of putting it all together LOVE IT
.

(Posted on 3/4/2015)

You must have this book Review by Dragana

I live on another continent, Europe and I heard of Mr. ?Johannes Vloothuis through the Internet. Before it, I took some classes in my own country, but nobody did know to explain me those little, but most important, in other words essential things that I somehow feel, but were not sure that they are correct. So, I am very thankful to him because he has shown me how to release my mind and my hand, and I think that everybody who likes to paint must have his book, and has to take his classes.

(Posted on 2/5/2015)

A Foundation for Painting Review by Margaret

When I started painting a few years ago, I lacked knowledge on creating a good painting. I took online courses from Johannes and learned the basics that are the foundation of artwork. In these courses, he covered every aspect of painting including composition, value, atmospheric perspective, color and much more. To this day as I paint, cloning, melodic lines and other terms I learned from Johannes are embedded in my head. What I learned from Johannes is in this eBook that covers his methods for creating a successful painting.

(Posted on 1/29/2016)

Visual backup of lessons Review by Margaret

I have taken many courses from Johannes, learning a huge amount about landscape painting. This book is a visual reminder of previous lessons and information from the classes. This book covers a lot of good points no matter what medium is used.

(Posted on 12/19/2015)

Excellent book Review by Dorothea

If you have had no lessons at all this is a book that will make you start out correct. I used to say this and that but didn’t know why it works. He explains the WHY. He is very personable in his classes which I recommend with the book.

(Posted on 7/30/2015)

Incredible approach to painting Review by Bogdan

I read many books on landscape painting, but this one beats all of them. The topics covered in this book couldn’t be found anywhere. The author answers both questions: How to do it and why do it this way.

(Posted on 5/25/2015)

Analyzing your picture Review by Scott

The Book Landscape Painting Essentials is without a doubt a must for a landscape artist. Essentially what is does is give the artist a base line of knowledge of how to analyze their paintings. All too often when a painter is finished he sees something is not right but he is not sure what is wrong. This book gives him the insight as to what might be the problem and how to correct it. This is as good as it gets.

(Posted on 5/23/2015)

Johannes Vloothuis book is the greatest ever for artists! Review by Joyce

This is the greatest book ever if you want to ” improve your paintings”. It is for all mediums and for any level you might be in, in your painting abilities. Wonderful examples and easy to understand style. You can tell he cares and and wants artists to understand all the ” golden nuggets” he talks about in this book! Johannes and his book are an inspiration to me and I highly recommend it!

(Posted on 5/5/2015)

Good comprehensive guide for beginner and professional artists. Review by roseann

Good comprehensive guide for beginner and professional artists. The depth of information is hard to find in art books. Photos add to understanding the concepts presented.

(Posted on 4/23/2015)

exceptional book Review by SHYAMALI

Though it contains previous lectures of author

(Posted on 4/17/2015)

Excellent book Review by Cheryl

Jo shares all his secrets & concepts for a beautiful painting. He works with all mediums. His book is a wonderful resource because it has a lot of tips & explains why these work. Every artist should have this book as a reference book.

(Posted on 3/31/2015)

Have to have Review by Cheryl

Jo illustrates the essentials of painting. He clarifies his “GOLDEN NUGGETS” & simplifies the principals as he illustrates what he is teaching. He talks about how the eye sees. He explains why which helps me understand & remember the concepts. I have been taking his classes for 4 years. I always feel I get so much from his classes.
His book is a must have reference book.

(Posted on 3/24/2015)

A book showing how to become professional even while just a beginner! Review by Robyne

At last, at last, at last,
(with selling going fast)
Jo has put his book to print,
So let me give you just a hint:
It’s packed with simple words to read
With pictures showing what to head
And every page will make you gasp
At all the ‘nuggets’ there to grasp.
It’s likely you have yet to know
Just how to set your work aglow,
To make the landscape dance and sing
By just the touch of one small thing.
Jo’s book is like a Master’s Touch
It’s brimming over with so much
That lifts you to a higher sphere
You’re work will shout “True art is here!”

Robyne Clark re Johannes Vloothuis’s book
Essentials of Landscape Painting.

(Posted on 3/24/2015)

A most comprehensive volume of essential information Review by MARION

I have taken several of Johannes’s online classes and have been so pleased with his method of teaching. He makes the most important principals of landscape painting so clear and easy to understand.
He espouses concepts which I have not been taught in the other classes that I have taken. I have an extensive library of Art books which would be considerable smaller had I found his book first.
I recommend his books and his classes to artists of all ages and abilities.

(Posted on 3/7/2015)

In a Nutshell Review by Thom

I have long been a fan of Johannes instructional video series and have purchased almost all of them. This eBook of Landscape Painting Essentials boils them down to a usable, understandable nutshell. One of the most helpful discussions is when he talks about how the eye sees and how that applies to painting. He clearly states his concepts and tenants and completely covers his important rules of landscape painting. They all make sense to this student artist. I will be referencing this book for a long time to come as I continue my painting adventures. Thank you, Jo! Nice job.

(Posted on 2/21/2015)

Number 1 book in my library ! Review by Susan

I was so excited when I learned that Jo’s ebook was finally out.
This book will not disappoint you. I will also be purchasing the hardcopy. Once again he breaks down the landscape and simplifies with his golden rules! Now I can look at any painting and understand what makes it a fabulous work of art! Thanks Jo for writing this wonderful book!

(Posted on 2/14/2015)

Landscape Painting Review by Scott

Of all the art books I have read, Landscape Painting Essentials by Johannes Vloothuis is certainly one of the better ones. What is impressive is the clean writing with no illusions of grandeur. There are no fancy artsy words for a line or color. There is no need to go to a dictionary to understand what is being described. He gives honest reasons why an artist needs to do certain things to improve his panting. He also clearly explains the reason why we see things and how we must sometimes compensate for what we see, in order for a composition to work. The chapters are well thought out with an abundance of pictures and graphics to illustrate what the author is detailing.

This is certainly a solid learning tool for any one interested in landscape painting.

Scott

(Posted on 2/12/2015)

Something that everybody should have Review by Dragana

I live on another continent, Europe and I heard of Mr. ?Johannes Vloothuis through the Internet. Before it, I took some classes in my own country, but nobody did know to explain me those little, but most important, in other words essential things that I somehow feel, but were not sure that they are correct. So, I am very thankful to him because he has shown me how to release my mind and my hand, and I think that everybody who likes to paint must have his book, and has to take his classes.

(Posted on 2/4/2015)

Awesome book!! Review by Jules

This book brings so much clarity to concepts before unheard of. In reading it I am nodding my head and find that aha moment in every chapter. This book will change the way you perceive creating art forever. Lots of tips and tricks to make you a better artist and a perfect reference for years to come. I have the hard copy on preorder so I can access it more readily while painting. Highly recommended.

(Posted on 1/26/2015)

Great work! Review by Valerie

Jo is a highly experienced artist. This doesn’t always equate to being a good teacher, but Jo is that as well! I appreciate that his mistakes aren’t edited out so we can learn how to correct our own work when we make mistakes. You can never go wrong with a Johannes Vloothuis art lesson regardless of the medium he uses.

(Posted on 10/27/2014)

Excellent Review by Max

I found this video very informative. The techniques are very effective and the course is well explained.

(Posted on 4/11/2014)

Fantastic learning experience! Review by Connie

You can not beat Johannes when it comes to learning the “how to” of painting in any medium!

(Posted on 1/31/2014)

Highly recommended Review by Natan Estivallet

Johannes is an excellent painter and teacher, and this course is very instructive. Although specific for the landscape enthusiast, It is useful for every media you might use.

(Posted on 1/27/2014)